I love Scranton, Pennsylvania and nearby Moosic

I’ve long loved the city of Scranton, Pennsylvania. Even before “The Office” began depicting the lives of office employees in the “Electric City,” I’ve acknowledged the city’s charms. Awnings, alleyways between streets for behind-the-house parking, and a valley location are just a few of Scranton’s lovely characteristics.

I got to know Scranton by occasionally visiting my friend Katie and her family there (check out Katie’s blog here). And I would often drive through Scranton to get to and from Loyola University Maryland (where I went for undergrad), and to visit friends living in Philadelphia, New York City, and Maryland.

When you’re headed southbound on Interstate-81, you go by some Scranton exits; soon after the exit for “Moosic.” I’ve never really been there (once I filled my car with gas just off the exit), but I adore the name. It’s basically a fun way to say “music.” I’ve sort of wondered what goes on in Moosic, and my question was partially answered on Sunday.

While I was at a rest stop off the New Jersey Turnpike (on the way back from Charleston, South Carolina), I noticed this lock in a bathroom stall.

If you look closely you’ll see that the lock was made by Comtec Industries in Moosic, Pennsylvania. A cursory search of the Internet indicates that the company is now owned by Scranton-based Scranton Products. I was unable to find out how many people work for Comtec Industries/Scranton Products in Moosic. Maybe many of these jobs have disappeared over the years.

Explore posts in the same categories: boston, Business, Charleston, Driving, friends, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Random, Scranton

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

