New Year’s resolution #6 (or was it #7 or #10?): Join a French conversation group

A photo from my first time in France (on a beach in Nice in 2000)

Prior to moving to Boston two and a half years ago, I pretty much spoke French every week. Whether I was conversing with a French friend over the webcam, speaking French with some fellow francophiles where I was living, or thinking out loud in French, the French language was clearly an important part of my life.

Well, since I arrived here I’ve been really bad at keeping up with the language. I initially joined a French conversation Meetup group, but I wasn’t a fan of the setting. I found that Tommy Doyle’s Irish pub in Cambridge’s Harvard Square was too loud and crowded of a backdrop. So after two sessions I stopped attending the group. I began working as a reporter, and found my evenings taken up with public meetings and article assignments.

When I stopped working as a reporter, I thought I might be able to get involved with another conversation group. But I ended up taking on a part-time restaurant job and signing up for an evening class, eliminating my ability to attend the groups I knew of. Well, my schedule is now more normal, and I see there’s a group that meets one Sunday per month at 5 p.m., a good day and time for me.

The group gathers at The Asgard Irish pub in Cambridge’s Central Square. Because they meet during the day, I’m hoping the clientele isn’t too rowdy. I’m trying out the group this Sunday, so I’ll let you know how it goes. Wish me luck (I’ll surely need it with my out-of-practice French)!

Explore posts in the same categories: Bar, boston, Cambridge, Central Square, French, Fun, Good news, Harvard Square, Journalism

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “New Year’s resolution #6 (or was it #7 or #10?): Join a French conversation group”

  1. Mohamad Jalloul Says:

    Why do ont you come another time here to Montreal? It is a good opportunity to recollect your French language. En tout cas, j’espere que cette fois tu ne vas pas raté les classes comme tu faisais avant 😉

    Bisous

    M.J

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    I would love to! Especially because some friends of mine just moved there. We’ll see what the schedule allows…

  3. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    By the way, the French conversation group was a huge success. I met a lot of interesting Francophiles, and the venue was laid-back. It helped that we had our own section of the establishment.


Leave a Reply

