Customers can be so rude

Yesterday morning I had breakfast at The Danish Pastry House in Medford, one of my favorite coffee shops. As I dunked a portion of my chocolate croissant into my coffee, I heard two toddlers scurrying around behind me. The noise and possibility of them running into my chair sort of ruined my relaxation.

After a moment, the children made their way over to the glass food display case. They began tapping on it, and only stopped when one of their mothers came over a minute later. I’m not sure what she said to them exactly. She then went back to her seat, and they started playing in another part of the coffee shop. A minute later we heard a crashing noise. The kids had knocked a potted plant onto the ground, and the ceramic pot had cracked into at least five or six pieces.

The same mother walked over to the children and calmly said “Don’t worry– that’s OK.” She picked up the plant and ceramic pieces and put them on a table, leaving piles of soil on the ground. She walked over to the girl at the register, and matter-of-factly said “I just wanted to let you know that the flower pot over there fell and broke.” That’s all she said. No explanation of how it happened. No mention of the children. No apology. No offer to give the coffee shop some money or buy a replacement pot.

She just walked away with what even looked like a grin, leaving the poor girl to handle the situation. I sure hope the girl isn’t blamed! Anyway, the mother went back to her seat, said nothing to her children about the incident, and continued letting them play like little animals. It was frustrating to see her lack of respect for the business and acceptance of the kids’ poor behavior.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bad news, Business, Coffee, Random

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Customers can be so rude”


  1. The mother’s behavior was more outrageous than the child’s! I know I would be receiving strange looks for doing so, but I would confront the mother with a highly irate look on my face and verbalize my displeasure with her poor parenting skills. Just saying…

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    Yeah, I guess I’m not that confrontational. But that may have been the right thing to do.

  3. ina Says:

    you know, I did remember you story when I was writing my own. It’s just unbelievable, isn’t it?? Those kids just learned that it’s ok to screw someone over, and not be accountable for their own actions.


  4. […] gift to their children. I see this all the time. My friend Christine also saw this in full action (read her experience watching a couple of rowdy kids at a coffee shop here). In Christine’ story, those kids just learned that it is OK to get away with not taking […]


  5. […] gift to their children. I see this all the time. My friend Christine also saw this in full action (read her experience watching a couple of rowdy kids at a coffee shop here). In Christine’ story, those kids just learned that it is OK to get away with not taking […]


Leave a Reply

