The gift of yoga

The yoga book and DVD I bought the other day

In college, my friend Michelle and I regularly attended yoga class. I enjoyed the relaxation it brought me, and learning how to better stretch my muscles (one of my favorite moves was the shoulder stand…try it sometime– it helps the whole body!).

After graduation I partook in a yoga class here and there, but it certainly wasn’t a regular thing. I have also, from time to time, done some yoga moves on my own. Well, I finally bought a yoga DVD and hope to do yoga more often. I think it will be a good complement to cardiovascular activity.

I tried out the DVD yesterday (it came with a book).  I really liked how the workout is divided into mini-workouts (like sun salutations, standing postures, and balances), the relaxing background music, and Gena Kenny‘s contribution to the exercises. She helps you along without annoying you (I’ve done other exercise videos where the fitness personality is overly peppy or just plain talks to much).

Plus, she has a cool Australian accent.

Get a taste for the video by watching this short YouTube clip:

Explore posts in the same categories: Advice, Books, Exercise

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The gift of yoga”

  1. Jeni Allen Says:

    Can you lose wieght with the book\dvd (The Gift Of Yoga) with Gena Kenny?

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    I would say “no.” It’s pretty low intensity…I would suggest a faster-paced yoga workout. This one is more for stretching/relaxation purposes.


Leave a Reply

