Bruegger’s discussion #985739

Yesterday morning I was in Bruegger’s. I couldn’t help but listen to the conversation two girls were having. I call them girls, but they probably were in their early 30s. Their discussion went something like this:

Girl 1: “My company is really into tracking metrics.”

Girl 2: “Oh my gosh, so is mine! What metrics do you track?”

Girl 1: “Well our number one metric is usage. But usage can be soooo hard to track! I mean, just because a customer has one of our tools running on his computer doesn’t mean he’s actually using it!”

Girl 2: “Totally. I totally see what you mean. We haven’t really come across that problem yet, but I hear you.”

Girl 1: “And have I told you yet about my thoughts on developers? I mean, we have to work with them, but it’s soooo difficult. I mean, it’s such a struggle, finding that perfect balance between pushing them to give you information and giving them their space. You don’t want to annoy them too much.”

Girl 2: “Wow, I really agree with that assessment.”

Girl 1: “And it can be so hard to get customer feedback. I try, and nothing happens. Our response rates are so low.”

Girl 2: “Same here!”

Girl 1: “And whenever we release a new product, we only call it the beta version for two months. We used to call it the beta version for longer, but we’d get so many calls from confused customers. They wouldn’t understand what beta meant.”

Girl 2: “Oh, we haven’t run into that problem yet. But we just might one day!”

The conversation continued with the one girl bringing up supposed work issues, and the other girl interjecting supportive statements. I found this dynamic amusing. Plus, I thought it was funny these girls were so loudly and passionately discussing the intricacies of their work lives when everyone else was stuffing bagels into their mouths, reading the newspaper, or conversing quietly.

Explore posts in the same categories: Breakfast, Food, Funny, Random, Work

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Bruegger’s discussion #985739”

  1. Mohamad Jalloul Says:

    Well, at least they have a job and a productive speech. Still, I understand the troubles the two women suffer. At the end, it is a relentless time.

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    Yeah, I shouldn’t make fun of people who are discussing something constructive. I just got the sense they thought they were all that and a bag of chips (maybe they are, but they don’t have to act like they know it).

    • Mohamad Jalloul Says:

      When we have a diary in the poche, we have to use it. It is good though to let people know of our daily experiences and how people show themselves in public places. I once was in St. Denis Brulrie, and there was a couple talking about their sexual experience in a loud voice that made the impression that they wanted everyone to hear their conversation, and I wished I had my diary that day.

      • Christine Laubenstein Says:

        LOL, that’s so funny. If I don’t have anything to write with or on, I try my best to remember what was said. When I get home I write everything down to the best of my ability. I find that as long as you remember the general gist of what was said, the exact details aren’t important.

  3. Mohamad Jalloul Says:

    I bought an iPad. I will not miss anything now and over unless the power goes off. I can even record speeches, so no one would realize that I am reporting anything 🙂


Leave a Reply

