Sentences I’ll never forget

They are imprinted in my brain forever.

There are just some sentences you’ll never forget. Either they carried much wisdom or ridiculousness, you heard them at a key point during your life, or a combination of the two. Here are a few of the sentences I’ll never forget:

  • “You call yourself a Christian??? Jesus Chris would have known what to do! He would have put that fire out right away!”

Crazy one to start off with, huh? My French host mom said this to me after I failed at putting out a stove fire. She was cooking away when all of a sudden a fire ignited. She didn’t know what to do, and started freaking out. “Christine,” she shouted. “Help me! Do something!”

I basically froze, and didn’t do anything (I recognize this was a bad thing, but I had no idea what to do). She ended up frantically carrying the flaming pot outside. She threw it down onto the ground, and then put out the fire with cat litter. She called her husband immediately after, and expressed to him how “alone” (or should I say “seule”) she had felt without me helping.

She then lectured me about how I was a hypocrite. I called myself a Christian, yet didn’t help out when it really mattered. Jesus Chris, she said, would have known what to do. And he would have immediately acted. If someone was drowning, for instance, he would have dove right into the water and rescued the person.

She had a point, I guess, but it was certainly an interesting way of communicating it. I still call myself a Christian, and hope that next time such an incident takes place I will react better.

  • “You look like you need a drink.”

This is the line my boyfriend first used on me, and it obviously worked. I was most impressed with his ability to persuade the bartender to give me a shot (for some reason the bartenders had been instructed to not serve shots at the wedding). He said something along the lines of, “You’re not even going to let the maid of honor (which I was) have a shot???” That made the bartender cave, and he even ended up doing one with me lol.

  • “Christine, you should never stop being yourself. Even if people don’t like you, that’s their problem. You are awesome.”

I don’t mean to post this as an ego boost. I mean, yes, when my friend, Sasha, told me this, it certainly made me feel good. But I’m actually including this in the post for everyone’s benefit. Often, I would upset a particular former colleague of mine by getting excited about things. It’s like my enthusiasm slowly ate away at his soul. I’m sorry this occurred (I certainly didn’t try to irritate him), but I couldn’t help the way I was.

One day this man screamed at me in front of our colleagues following some positive statement I made. Usually I didn’t let his outbursts affect me, but this time I couldn’t help myself. I started tearing up, and had to run to the bathroom to make sure no one saw. My friend and co-worker, Sasha, followed me, and made me feel better. She said that I shouldn’t refrain from being myself just because someone else has a bad attitude about life. I try to remember this when I’m feeling down, and hope others will, too.

At the same time, I try my best to not annoy people (especially cool people).

  • “I don’t think you understand the repercussions of your actions.”

My mom said this to me when I was seriously dating a guy living in another country (and thinking of moving to his country permanently). He and I ended up breaking off the relationship after five years of living in separate countries. While I had my own reasons for ending the liaison, I always had her statement in the back of my mind. And I wonder if it contributed to my eventual realization that potentially moving abroad wasn’t in my best interest.

  • “Our love has persisted because we do everything together,” and “Sometimes I worry that my parents are too dependent on one another.”

I wrote an article once about a couple who was celebrating their 75th Valentine’s Day as husband and wife. It was a feel-good piece for a small-town daily newspaper. Well it ended up being one of my favorite articles to write (unfortunately, it’s not online so I can’t link to it). And it wasn’t necessarily writing the article that gave me pleasure, but interviewing the couple. The husband couldn’t really talk  for health reasons, so the wife answered all of my questions.

The whole length of the interview they were tightly holding hands. It was one of the cutest things I have ever seen. And the way the wife gushed about their first weeks of dating really warmed my heart. I think her husband had walked for miles to see her. They showed me pictures from when they were young, and she talked about all the amazing experiences they had had together (some as simple as decorating a Christmas tree). They were clearly still incredibly in love. I asked her what the secret to their successful relationship was. She said “We do everything together. We are almost never apart.” As far as she could recollect, the longest they had been apart was for a couple of days. And that rarely happened.

I remember I called their daughter to interview her for the story. She acknowledged her parents were lucky to have such a great relationship, but didn’t seem thrilled about it. In fact, she said something along the lines of: “I think they are too dependent on one another.” It made me wonder if she hadn’t been so lucky in her personal life. It also made me question whether the parents were indeed a little too dependent on one another. I guess this is the eternal question that couples must ask themselves: “What’s the perfect blend of spending time together and having our own lives?”

In my opinion, the answer to that question varies according to your personality. There’s no right answer, and people should not judge others for their decision.

  • “Tinker Bell? More like ‘Tinkle Bell!'”

I was the shyest of children. I was fine at home or with friends, but with strangers I was a mess. I remember hating the fact I was so timid. I wanted to raise my hand in class and give an answer, but was too nervous (for whatever reason) to do so. Because of my bashfulness, my first grade teacher cast me as Tinker Bell in our production of “Peter Pan.” Tinker Bell, she reasoned, had no lines; thus, I’d be the perfect student for the role. I was devastated. This just drew further attention to the fact I was an introverted loser.

I had no idea at the time, but it turns out all of the Indians (including my friend Mikki) were jealous I had snagged the role of Tinker Bell. They wanted it. I guess everyone wants what they don’t have because I was dying to be an Indian. Well getting back to the original sentence I posted, I remember one day I was waiting in line for the restroom in our classroom. Two classmates of mine (including one named Marco) started making fun of me.

They called me “Tinkle Bell” because we were waiting in line to use the bathroom. This statement made me feel even worse about being the fairy. I thought my life was over. Well, looking back I can certainly laugh about this. And it also helps me realize that children can be extremely sensitive so you should be careful what you say (though some degree of frankness can help toughen you up)!

Photo credit: Wellcome Images

Explore posts in the same categories: friends, Life, Newspaper, Random, Relationships

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Sentences I’ll never forget”

  1. ina Says:

    I love these thoughtful posts of yours. I had no idea what your relationship was like with your host mother in France, I’d love to hear more about your time there!
    Now, if you don’t mind, I’ll copy-cat you and make my own entry of sentences I’ll never forget 🙂
    Hope you are having an awesome holiday week!!!
    ina

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    Glad you liked the post! And of course you can make your own entry of sentences you’ll never forget. I’ll be curious to ready the post once it’s ready!


  3. […] going to shamelessly copy off Christine‘s blog entry titled Sentences I’ll never forget and give you my own list of sentences I will never be able to […]


Leave a Reply

