Pastries and Christmas tree

This has been a weekend of eating pastries (not to mention cookies) and doing Christmas-y things (like getting a Christmas tree). Yesterday for breakfast I stopped by Modern Pastry in Medford, and had this apple turnover.

The guy at the counter said it’s the pastry shop’s specialty, so I thought “Why not?” It was pretty good, though I generally prefer breakfast pastries with less filling. Otherwise, it feels more like dessert than breakfast. This pastry shop, which also has a Boston location, has been recognized by the TLC television channel.

Sign on window

This morning I had a raspberry-flavored pastry from the Sweet Spot Bakery in Melrose.

The treat was a gift so I’m not exactly sure what it’s called. I liked it a lot better than the apple turnover because it had the perfect amount of fruit filling (not too much) and the ideal blend of flakiness and moistness. I will surely stop by this bakery myself one day!

My boyfriend and I also got a tree for our apartment. Here’s a picture of the tree on my car.

Here’s a picture of the tree set up in our apartment.

We are waiting for the boughs to drop a little more before putting up decorations. I’m not used to having a real tree, and love the amazing scent it produces!

Explore posts in the same categories: Breakfast, Christmas, Food, Pastries

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Pastries and Christmas tree”

  1. ina Says:

    what a nice tree! good job!

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    Thanks!! Jim’s mom picked it out– she has good taste!


Leave a Reply

