The Foundry in Somerville (Davis Square): Good food, packed-together customers

My leftover half chicken, fingerling potatoes and kale from the Foundry

My boyfriend and I checked out this new joint on Sunday evening. He was happy because they have about 25 beers on tap. I was happy because Sunday’s special is a “$5 glass of wine.” I ordered the roasted half chicken with local fingerlings (potatoes) and kale, and he asked for the steak frites (French fries) with shallots and garlic herb butter.

As we waited for our meals to arrive, we took in the jovial environment around us. The large restaurant was packed with people smiling, enjoying their drinks and dinner, and engaged in spirited conversation. This was nice. We especially liked observing a horseshoe-shaped table in the middle of the restaurant. The large family was clearly relishing their meals and awesome location.

Unfortunately, we were crammed in between two other tables of two. I normally wouldn’t mind this, but the guys right next to us were pretty loud. As they dramatically gushed about the girls they thought were attractive, their simple-minded families back home, and the politics associated with their Tufts PhD program, I wished we had been placed elsewhere. But we had to deal with the cards we were dealt (I guess I shouldn’t complain too much– in the end we got to eat like a king and queen).

We sympathized with our waitress, who said she was on the last leg of her double shift. But we were impressed with her enthusiasm and dedication to serving us well. She brought me a steak knife for my chicken in case I needed it. That was a thoughtful touch (maybe she accidentally brought out two steak knives for our table, but I’ll interpret her gesture as a kind action on her behalf).

Our meals, if you could not already surmise, were fantastic. I actually slightly preferred my boyfriend’s steak to my chicken. The menu said it was a “flatiron” steak, which my Internet research indicates has a rich chuck flavor. Apparently it’s also second only to filet mignon in tenderness. I definitely found that the steak was both richly flavored and tender. It went quite well with the shallots and garlic herb butter. My chicken was good (not amazing), but the potatoes and kale were extremely tasty. Luckily, there was so much food I got to take leftovers home. I enjoyed them for lunch the next day.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good meal. The food is a little pricey (my meal was $18 and my boyfriend’s meal was $19), but if you don’t get appetizers, desserts, or alcohol, you can certainly limit the cost somewhat. Oh yeah, I forgot to add that country-style French bread with butter was given to us while we waited for our meals. And at the end of our dinner we had Lavazza coffee, which never disappoint.

Explore posts in the same categories: Business, Davis Square, Drinks, Food, Restaurant, Somerville

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

