Kelly’s Diner in Somerville has good food, not-so-good service

Kelly's Diner in Somerville

At least that was my experience. I went there on Saturday for breakfast, and had a tasty grilled bagel (grilled bagels are amazing!) with cream cheese, yummy ham, potatoes, orange juice and coffee. Everything was scrumptious but our waitress was kind of out of it. Maybe she was having a bad day, but still.

One of the first things she asked us is if she had makeup on her nose. She had all this blue eyeshadow and glitter around her eyes, so I think she was afraid it had spread to other parts of her face. We told her she was in the clear, because she was. We ordered coffee and orange juice and got it without a problem.

Ordering our food was a little more difficult. She didn’t seem to know the menu and had to ask us a few time to repeat our orders. That was fine– I’d rather she take her time getting it right than us getting the wrong thing. We ended up getting our food pretty promptly so that was good, too.

But after that she didn’t seem to remember we were there. I asked her for water, and she said she’s bring one. She totally didn’t, however, and was instead talking to the elderly gentleman next to us (we were seated at the counter) about her aspirations of owning a hair salon. She said that her dad supported the idea, too, as he could then retire.

I though it was good she was making small talk with customers, but not at the expense of my thirst! I was dying for that glass of water. I tried to catch her attention but she was in another world. Each time she walked by us she was looking in another direction. Basically she just seemed out of it. Maybe she had had a rough night or something.

The one moment I was looking the other way, she came by and refilled my coffee mug to the brim. I looked over and she was already gone. This is actually a pet peeve of mine– servers who top off your coffee without asking your permission. I only wanted one cup, and it was perfectly flavored with sugar. By giving me more coffee she not only wasted coffee, but upset the beverage’s balance of coffee and sugar. I had to add more sugar, which meant sugar was also wasted.

One other thing I noticed was she was continuously adjusting her undergarments. But at least the food was good! And it’s cool the restaurant is inside one of the largest dining cars every manufactured in the 1950s.

Explore posts in the same categories: Breakfast, Business, Critique, Drinks, Food, Restaurant, Somerville

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

