I love movies about dysfunctional families!

I don’t know why– they just make me laugh! Call me sadistic, but that’s how I feel!

I think part of it is because these movies are very real to me. They show the way things are, not some idealized world.

Yesterday I saw a dysfunctional family movie, and I must say it’s the best movie I’ve seen in a long time! I couldn’t stop laughing!

In “The Kids Are All Right” Annette Bening and Julianne Moore play a married lesbian couple who have daughter and a son. Toward the beginning of the movie the son wants to meet his sperm donor (who’s also the daughter’s sperm donor).

The daughter ends up calling him, and the three of them meet up. They sort of hit it off and decide to hang out again. The mothers soon find out about this, and are pretty apprehensive about letting this stranger into their lives. But they agree to meet the donor in order to support their kids.

Anyway, craziness ensues. I won’t give away too much, but basically the entrance of this man into their lives upends the family’s stability. Not that there weren’t issues to begin with. One of the moms is extremely controlling and obsessive, and the other feels like she’s not being supported  by her wife career wise.

The kids are actually pretty normal, but the parents issues blow up. At this point (and actually throughout the movie) you see amazing performances by Bening and Moore. Oh my god, the way Bening looks when she’s mad is remarkable! She has a glacial look that sends chills down your spine.

And Moore’s portrayal of a self-conscious, wordsmith (the way she uses words make her so charming!) is almost as good.

I highly recommend this movie to anyone who likes to laugh and appreciate strangeness!

Explore posts in the same categories: Funny, Movies

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

