Don’t mess with me…

…or my eye will get you!

My coworker just got back from visiting family and friends in Turkey. Upon her return she gave me this bracelet:

The eye in the middle protects against the “evil eye,” or “Eye of Medusa.” In Turkey and other Mediterranean cultures the evil eye is a look that is believed to cause injury or bad luck to the person at whom it’s directed for reasons of envy or dislike.

In other words, if someone looks at you with ill will, you’ll be harmed.

But because I now have this bracelet, I am immune to their hostility. Yeah!

Explore posts in the same categories: Culture, Jewelry, protect, Turkey

Leave a Reply

