Thank you Andrew Cyr!

thank youThis is just a quick post to thank a friend (Andrew Cyr) for fixing my computer last week. He replaced my Dell laptop’s hard drive (which I damaged a few weeks ago), reinstalled Windows, and added the necessary drivers.

It took a little while for him to perform these tasks, but he didn’t mind. In fact, the thing that impressed me the most was his extreme interest in fixing the computer.

You know how some people work in the computer field but in their spare time prefer doing something else? Well he is passionate about working on computers regardless of whether he’s at work. So you don’t feel like he’s suffering as he helps you out.

Another great thing was Andrew gave me all sorts of advice about free programs available online. I said I didn’t know if I still had my Microsoft Office disk/verification number (I have since found both of these), and he recommended I check out Open Office, which is compatible with Word.

He also recommended using the Microsoft Live version of Office (you need a Microsoft Live ID and password to access it), though you must be online for it to work.

He also told me about Roxio, a free (or at least one of its versions is) program that allows you to take a DVD that only plays in one region and make a copy that plays in all regions.

In addition, he urged me to get an external hard drive to back up my data. He said they’ve really dropped in price, and that you can get one for as low as $50. Apparently LaCie offers good ones.

Another way to back up data, he said, is by using an online backup service like the one offered by Mozy. It’s free for up to 2GB of data, and $4.95 a month for unlimited data.

He also recommended a Brookstone “e-Pad” laptop desk. It keeps the laptop from overheating and getting damaged from lying at an uneven angle. Also, it improves your comfort and can be used as a laptop bag.

So as you can see I learned a lot from Andrew. Also, while he fixed my laptop he let me try out his Wii Fit! I had never played it before, and had a lot of fun (I especially loved the hula hoop games)!

Photo credit: www.flickr.com/photos/zooboing/4291193035

Explore posts in the same categories: Advice, Computer, friends, Good news

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

