What a great compliment!!!

So, I have a part-time job at a local restaurant. The other night one of our customers, as I was pouring him some water, asked me if I was in school. Technically I am, because I am taking a (technical writing) course at UMass Lowell.

I said, “Yes, I am.” And then he went, “Oh, are you in high school?”

Oh my gosh!!! How happy that made me!!! But also, how outrageous his comment seemed to me. I definitely don’t feel like I look like I’m in high school. But I’ll take what I can get.

Anyway, in response to his question I looked him in the face and said “Actually, no. I’m 29.” Then, I paused.

He started apologizing. He was like, “Oh my, I’m so sorry. I can’t believe I was so off with your age.”

I told him not to worry at all. I said that was a huge compliment he gave me. Then I started explaining to him how I was going back to school to get my technical writing certificate after working for several years as a journalist.

I told him how I had a couple of part-time jobs in the meantime, etc., etc., etc. We had a nice conversation, and afterward I was still ecstatic he had thought I was I was so young!!!

Photo credit: www.flickr.com/photos/jvk/5403270

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Random, Restaurant, School

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “What a great compliment!!!”

  1. ina Says:

    Haha Nice! Was the tip equally huge and complimentary? 😉

  2. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    I’m actually not sure as we pool our tips:-).


Leave a Reply

