Zucchini fritters

I love fritters, especially vegetable fritters. I think that my love of fritters developed when I was a youngin attending the LaFayette Apple Festival in upstate New York. Those apple fritters were amazing!

When I was living in France I had the opportunity to try fritters made with various types of vegetables. I vividly remember a friend’s mother serving pumpkin fritters as an appetizer one Sunday lunch. Pumpkin was in season at the time, and she was all excited to serve this dish for the first time.

Recently, I craved zucchini fritters. So I made them. Here’s an easy recipe I found from the Easy French Food website:

You need:

  • 1 pound of zucchini (My two cents: feel free to substitute a vegetable of your choice)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • oil for frying

Here’s what you do:

1. Shred the zucchini with a food processor (I use a handheld shredder because I don’t have a food processor).

2. Put the zucchini in a big mixing bowl.

3. Stir in the eggs, garlic, flour, salt and pepper and mix until blended. Don’t worry if the batter looks runny– it holds together once it is cooked in hot oil.

4. Heat half an inch of oil in a skillet.

5. Drop the batter by the tablespoon into the oil.

6. Cook the batter until it’s browned– three to four minutes per side.

7. Remove from the oil with a slotted spoon and drain on a paper towl.

This makes about 20 fritters. Serve them warm if possible.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, France, Recipe

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

