“Julie and Julia” sort of cheesy

I finished the movie the other day, and wasn’t a huge fan. I mean, it was entertaining and Meryl Streep did a great job as Julia. But I thought that Julie’s character was pretty annoying. She was a little too obsessive and whiny.

But additionally I thought a lot of her lines were rather contrived. One particular scene sticks out in my mind. She keeps questioning what she should should blog about. She wonders what her passion is. She is saying all this right after she made it clear she loves to cook. I thought it was a little unrealistic she’d have no idea what to blog about.

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Movies

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on ““Julie and Julia” sort of cheesy”

  1. ina Says:

    I was going to review this movie on my blog, but realized that my feelings about the movie were not strong enough to grant the effort. I did think she was whinny. I’m really losing my taste for Amy Adams altogether. I saw her in an interview on the Today show and she was so… “affected,” as Paula Abdul would say. So “superstarish.” She answered with monosyllables and just kept smiling and talking as little as possible. Such a bore.

  2. christinelaubenstein Says:

    The only other movie I have actually seen her in is “Junebug,” which I really liked. My memory of the movie is a little vague, however, so I’m not sure how much her performance contributed to my opinion of the movie. But she must have done well enough for me not to remember a bad performance by her. If you haven’t seen this movie I would check it out. It’s a nice portrait of life down south, and the characters are all pretty particular.


Leave a Reply

