Nothing like popcorn popped in a popper

The other night my boyfriend and I made popcorn in a popcorn popper. While this may not seem very exciting, it truly was for us. Both of us used to eat popcorn made in a popper all the time as kids. At some point both of our families switched over exclusively to making microwaved popcorn. We’re not really sure what prompted this change, but know that many of our friends’ families did the same. And we kept up the microwave popcorn habit.

Recently, though, we’ve remembered with nostalgia the fun experience of making popcorn from a machine. That includes melting butter in the little tray on top of the machine and pouring it over the popcorn when it’s ready. Eating the popcorn was also a fun experience. You never knew when you’d come across a butter-soaked piece, and how those were delicious! I used to pour salt on my popcorn. When I came across a piece lacking in butter or salt I’d smush the piece on the bottom of the bowl to absorb the salt that had accumulated there. Fun times!

So you can imagine how excited my boyfriend and I were when my mom gave him a popcorn machine for Christmas. And this wasn’t just any popcorn machine. It’s one from Target (see photo above) that once you’re done making the popcorn allows you use its top half as a bowl.  And the bowl is clear so you can see the popcorn popping. Another cool feature is a built-in butter well at the top. As the popcorn pops the butter drips down.

May you also rediscover popcorn from a popcorn popper!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Explore posts in the same categories: Fun, Popcorn

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Nothing like popcorn popped in a popper”

  1. ina Says:

    I think it’s hilarious that you have a category for your posts called “popcorn”! LOL! 🙂 I’m glad I finally found your blog!!! 🙂 ina

  2. christinelaubenstein Says:

    😀 Glad you found it, too! Sorry I didn’t make it easy for you by sending you the link!

  3. ina Says:

    well I’m glad I found it. If you want mine, it is at inanutshelll.com (with 3 L’s). ina


Leave a Reply

