When tragedy strikes, look for the silver lining

Imagine– you’ve just spent an amazing vacation full of fun, carefree living, tantalizing conversation, and exploration. While you’re sad to be headed back home, the joy of a week well spent overpowers any feelings of longing or nostalgia.

You encounter some road bumps on the way home (mostly related to your car’s functioning), but none of them compare to what’s about to happen. You wake up from a heavy night of sleep, walk into the hotel parking lot, and discover your car has been broken into.

Not only was the driver’s side window smashed, but practically half of the valuable possessions to your name were taken. More than $1,500 worth of stuff. The worst part is you could have prevented the crime. If you had been sure to remove all the valuables from view, the perpetrator probably wouldn’t have targeted your carĀ  in the first place.

The combination of sadness your vacation is over, anger your car was burglarized, and regret you didn’t do the right thing can be a lot to handle.

Luckily, right after the incident I met a nice girl from Baltimore who cheered me up. Her philosophy is that the burglary was a sign from above. It’s a higher power trying to help me out in some way. Maybe he or she is telling me to be more careful in my life so that something worse doesn’t happen. Or that possessions aren’t everything.

In the last few days I’ve been mourning the “passing” of my stolen items. The retro Syracuse Chiefs shirt my fiance bought me last summer, the heart-shaped measuring spoons he just purchased because our measuring spoons are so mismatched, all the music from my time in France (where will I find all of these songs? Some are so obscure…), a bathing suit that fit me just right, my trusty GPS, my whimsical earrings from Kittery, Maine, and the list goes on.

Syracuse Chiefs shirt that was stolen

The objects I miss the most are the ones with sentimental value. Even if I am able to recoup some insurance money for the stolen items, there are many that can’t be replaced. So maybe the silver lining I must take away from this experience is that even objects with sentimental value aren’t as important as being healthy, having quality relationships, learning from our mistakes, and other facets of life. I must try to remind myself of this when I start missing that hair clip I’ve had since eighth grade.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bad news, clothes, Driving, Good news, Jewelry, Life, Money, Random, Relationships

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “When tragedy strikes, look for the silver lining”

  1. Mohamad Jalloul Says:

    Oh god. I am so sorry to hearing this. It is really horrible. I can imagine myself being in your position. How sad to end a holiday in such an event. May this be your last miserable encounter.

    Heartily

    M.J

  2. ina Says:

    This os the saddest thing ever, Christine. I know how you feel about losing those things. I hope you recover as well as possible. Hang in there!


  3. [...] only to wake up and find that their car had been broken into and all their possessions stolen (http://christinelaubenstein.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/when-tragedy-strikes-look-for-the-silver-lining…). Christine mourned the loss of those items that are simply irreplaceable: CDs with obscure songs [...]

  4. Christine Laubenstein Says:

    Thank you both! Hopefully I will get over what happened soon…


  5. [...] new things! Almost a month ago my car was burglarized by an unknown meanie. As I mentioned in this blog post, I lost a lot of valuable items. Well, I have a small sense of relief knowing I can replace some of [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

